Control Your Facebook Timeline With These Security Tips



How Do You Secure Your Facebook Timeline? 

Let me take you through the steps you need to secure your Facebook timeline. There's a lot of noise

about the new Facebook Timeline feature. The brand-new Facebook timeline makes your profile look

a lot more newspaper-like and lets you take a look down memory lane in an instant.

Before the addition of the Facebook Timeline, you could only visit your Facebook past by clicking the

"older entries" link or by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and waiting for the auto-refresh

feature to pull older content.



The Facebook Timeline now has a convenient list of years on the right side of the screen. It allows

you to easily jump to any moment in your Facebook History
.

Let's take a look at a couple of steps you can take to make your Facebook Timeline a little safer and

more private.

There are a lot of things you can do to keep your Facebook timeline safe and secure. See some helpful tips below.

A:
Enable The Timeline Review And Tag Review Features

With the timeline review and tag review features, you can decide if you want a post to be published
prior to it showing up on your Timeline. Here's how to set it up:

1. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the screen and choose "Privacy Settings" from the drop-down menu.

2. Click the "Edit Settings" link in the "How Tags Work" section.

3. From the pop-up menu that appears, click the "Off >" link.

4. Click the "Disabled" button from the pop-up window and set it to "Enabled".

5. Click the "Back" button at the bottom of the pop-up window.

6. Choose the "Off >" link from the "Tag Review" section of the pop-up and repeat the steps above to enable Tag Review.



B:
Make All Your Past Posts on Your Timeline Accessible to Friends Only

Facebook has a feature called "Limit the Audience for Past Posts". This button will change all of your

past posts from their current state to "Friends Only". This is a global change which may impact pictures,

videos and other posts that you had previously made public.

These items will now be "Friends Only" but if friends are tagged in them then friends of friends may still be able to see them.

To enable the "Limit the Audience for Pasts Posts" feature:

1. Log into Facebook and click on the arrow at the top right corner of the page.

2. Choose "Privacy Settings" from the drop-down menu.

3. Click the link that says "Manage Past Post Availability".

C:
Set Your Default Privacy Setting for Future Timeline Posts

You can customize your default setting for all future posts in the privacy settings menu. Here's how to do it:

1. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the screen and choose "Privacy Settings" from the drop-down menu.


2. In the middle of the page, you will see a section titled "Control Your Default Privacy", choose either

"Friends" or "Custom" to select individuals or groups lists. Its recommended you do not choose "public"

as this lets the world see all of your future posts.


Post a Comment

0 Comments